Special program:

Disney artist Ulrich Schröder live in the messmer art gallery!

Big event with lecture about his life and work with Walt Disney, public drawing course and book signing

On Sunday, May 29th, 2022 from 11:00 a.m

Ulrich Schröder, Copyright: ® EHAPA _ Photo Kirsten Breustedt

The messmer art gallery is pleased to welcome the great Disney cartoonist Ulrich Schröder on May 29 in the current exhibition “Disney’s great cartoonists”. A wonderful broadcast program is offered live with the artist. We look forward to your registration!

Prices for the special program:

Regular participation: €13.50 | Museums-Pass-Musées holders: €5.00 | Circle of Friends members: free

program

Starting at 11 a.m. , Ulrich Schröder will first present a brief introduction to his life and biography as a Disney cartoonist.

From 12 noon there will be a drawing lesson with an audience.

At around 2 p.m. , a guided tour through the current exhibition will be offered with Mr. Schröder.

Afterwards, at 3:30 p.m. , Mr. Schröder will publicly paint a canvas with Donald Duck.

At 4 p.m. , all visitors have the opportunity to have drawings and books signed by Ulrich Schröder.

Information on Ulrich Schroeder

Ulrich Schröder is represented in the exhibition with numerous drawings by the forefathers of Donald and Co., such as Carl Barks and Al Taliaferro. Schröder is one of the most famous German graphic artists and comic artists and became known as an art director and illustrator of Disney comics. He designed the artwork and promotional materials for Disney for 17 years. In 2006 Schröder left Disney Europe and founded the Duckworks studio. Among other things, he became known for his large-format Donald Duck drawings and his covers for the European Disney magazines.

Due to limited places, we ask that you register by email at info@kunsthallemessmer.de by Thursday, May 26th, 2022.

Current exhibition

Disney's great artists

Barks, Taliaferro, and Gottfredson
March 05, 2022 - June 12, 2022

From March 5th, 2022 to June 12th , 2022, Micky, Donald and their friends will be in the messmer art gallery. The exhibition “Disney’s Great Draftsmen” presents the works of Walt Disney’s innovative draftsmen – Carl Barks, Al Taliaferro and Floyd Gottfredson – and thus deals with the topic of sequential pictorial art of the 20th century. Based on original sketches and storyboards from the years 1933 to 1995, the reference to cartoons such as the early Silly Symphonies is presented and the intermedia interface between comics and animated films is thus addressed.

Walt Disney © Walt Disney Company 2022 / Courtesy Reichelt and Brockmann Collection

The exhibition shows the way from the sketch to the finished comic and takes a look behind the scenes by showing the working methods of the creators of the world-famous characters . The old masters are also juxtaposed with contemporary draftsmen , which makes it possible to understand the long development of the popular comic characters from the beginnings to the present day. Look forward to extraordinary exhibits with rarity value!

The best-known Disney animator, Carl Barks (1901-2000), first came to Disney Studios in his thirties and initially worked in the animation department . He made his debut as a draftsman with the 1936 Mickey Mouse short film Thru the Mirror .

Carl Barks © Walt Disney Company 2022 / Courtesy Reichelt and Brockmann Collection

Many of the characters that are still popular today were penned by Carl Barks , such as Scrooge McDuck , Gyro Gearloose and Gustav Gans . Barks also depicted the residents of Duckburg in art forms other than comics. Among other things, some print graphics will also be on display.

The duck named Donald Duck penned by the cartoonist Al Taliaferro (1905 – 1969) made its first appearance in the 1934 short film The Wise Little Hen . Moving on, Donald became popular through the Silly Symphonies of the 1930s. Donald Duck as a comic was not originally planned and could only be realized as a daily (daily strip) in the Pasadena Star News in 1938 after lengthy persuasion by Al Taliaferro. Later, Al Taliaferro expands the duck repertoire to include Donald’s fiancé Daisy Duck and his nephews Huey, Dewey, and Louie .

Floyd Gottfredson (1905-1986), the great Mouse Man, first drew for the Silly Symphonies film series and has been bringing Mickey Mouse stories to life since the 1930s.

Floyd Gottfredson © Walt Disney Company 2022 / Courtesy Reichelt and Brockmann Collection

At first he drew the so-called daily strips in black and white, but from 1932 he was also commissioned to design colored Sunday pages about Mickey Mouse. Until Bill Walsh was hired by Disney, Gottfredson was solely responsible for the plots of the Mickey stories. Since he even edited the lyricists’ dialogue , the story and character development is consistent over the years.

Jan Gulbransson (*1949) is the grandson of the well-known painter and graphic artist Olaf Gulbransson. In terms of characters and narrative style , he follows his predecessors and his role model Carl Barks, while his themes are becoming more contemporary .

Ulrich Schröder (*1964) is one of the most famous German graphic artists and comic artists and became known as an art director and illustrator of Disney comics. He designed the artwork and promotional materials for Disney for 17 years. In 2006 Schröder left Disney Europe and founded the Duckworks studio . Among other things, he became known for his large-format Donald Duck drawings and his covers for the European Disney booklets.

Newsletter

Unser Newsletter mit Informationen über unsere Ausstellungen, Künstler, u.v.m.! (Jederzeit kostenlos & kündbar)

Impressionen

Aus unserer Austellung “Disney große Zeichner”

Jetzt zu sehen: Thomas Haufe (08.05.2022 – 31.07.2022)

Sonderprogramm:

Disney-Zeichner Ulrich Schröder live in der kunsthalle messmer!

Großes Event mit Vortrag zu seinem Leben und der Arbeit mit Walt Disney, öffentlichem Zeichenkurs und Signierstunde

Am Sonntag, den 29.05.2022 ab 11:00 Uhr

Ulrich Schröder, Copyright: ® EHAPA _ Photo Kirsten Breustedt

Die kunsthalle messmer freut sich den großen Disney-Zeichner Ulrich Schröder am 29. Mai in der aktuellen Ausstellung „Disneys große Zeichner“ zu begrüßen. Es wird ein wunderbares Sendeprogramm live mit dem Künstler angeboten. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anmeldung!

Preise für das Sonderprogramm:

Reguläre Teilnahme: 13,50 € | Museums-Pass-Musées Inhaber: 5,00 € | Freundeskreismitglieder: kostenlos

 

Programm

Ab 11 Uhr, wird Ulrich Schröder zunächst eine kurze Einführung in sein Leben und seine Biographie als Disney-Zeichner präsentieren.

Ab 12 Uhr wird es eine Zeichenstunde mit Publikum geben.

Ca. 14 Uhr wird dann eine Führung mit Herr Schröder durch die aktuelle Ausstellung angeboten.

Danach, um 15:30 Uhr, wird Herr Schröder öffentlich eine Leinwand mit Donald Duck bemalen.

Um 16:00 Uhr besteht für alle Besucher*Innen die Gelegenheit, sich Zeichnungen und Bücher von Ulrich Schröder signieren zu lassen.

 

Informationen zu Ulrich Schröder

Mit den Urvätern von Donald und Co., wie Carl Barks und Al Taliaferro, ist Ulrich Schröder mit zahlreichen Zeichnungen in der Ausstellung vertreten. Schröder ist einer der berühmtesten deutschen Grafiker und Comiczeichner und wurde bekannt als Artdirector und Illustrator von Disney-Comics. Er gestaltete 17 Jahre das Artwork und die Werbematerialen für Disney. 2006 verließ Schröder Disney Europe und gründete das Studio Duckworks. Bekannt wurde er unter anderem auch für seine großformatigen Donald Duck-Zeichnungen und seine Cover für die europäischen Disney-Hefte.

Aufgrund begrenzter Plätze wird um eine Anmeldung per Email unter info@kunsthallemessmer.de bis zum Donnerstag, den 26.05.2022 gebeten.

Aktuelle Ausstellung

Disneys große Zeichner

Barks, Taliaferro und Gottfredson
05. März 2022 - 12. Juni 2022

Vom 05.03.2022 bis zum 12.06.2022 tummeln sich Micky, Donald und ihre Freunde in der kunsthalle messmer. Die Ausstellung „Disneys große Zeichner“ präsentiert die Werke der innovativen Zeichner Walt Disneys – Carl Barks, Al Taliaferro und Floyd Gottfredson – und behandelt damit das Thema der sequenziellen Bildkunst des 20. Jahrhunderts. Anhand originaler Skizzen und Storyboards aus den Jahren 1933 bis 1995 wird der Bezug zu Trickfilmen wie den frühen Silly Symphonies dargestellt und somit die intermediale Schnittstelle von Comic und Animationsfilm thematisiert.

Walt Disney © Walt Disney Company 2022 / Courtesy Sammlung Reichelt und Brockmann

Die Ausstellung zeigt den Weg von der Skizze bis zum fertigen Comic und wirft dabei einen Blick hinter die Kulissen, indem sie die Arbeitsweise der Schöpfer der weltberühmten Figuren anschaulich macht. Den Altmeistern werden auch Zeichner der heutigen Zeit gegenübergestellt, was es ermöglicht, die lange Entwicklung der beliebten Comic-Figuren von den Anfängen bis in die Gegenwart nachzuvollziehen. Freuen Sie sich auf außergewöhnliche Exponate mit Seltenheitswert!

Der bekannteste Disney-Zeichner Carl Barks (1901 – 2000) kam erst in seinen Dreißigern zu den Disney Studios und arbeitete zunächst für die Trickfilmabteilung. Mit dem Micky Maus Kurzfilm Thru the Mirror von 1936 hatte er sein Debüt als Zeichner.

Carl Barks © Walt Disney Company 2022 / Courtesy Sammlung Reichelt und Brockmann

Viele der bis heute populären Figuren stammen aus der Feder von Carl Barks, wie zum Beispiel Dagobert Duck, Daniel Düsentrieb und Gustav Gans. Barks stellte die Bewohner Entenhausens auch in anderen Kunstformen als dem Comic dar. So werden unter anderem auch einige Druckgrafiken zu sehen sein.

Die Ente namens Donald Duck aus der Feder des Zeichners Al Taliaferro (1905 – 1969) hat 1934 in dem Kurzfilm The Wise Little Hen ihren ersten Auftritt.  Im weiteren Verlauf wird Donald durch die Silly Symphonies der 1930er Jahre populär. Donald Duck als Comic war ursprünglich so nicht geplant und konnte erst 1938 nach langwieriger Überzeugungsarbeit von Al Taliaferro in den Pasadena Star News als Daily (Tagesstrip/Daily Strip) realisiert werden. Später erweitert Al Taliaferro das Entenrepertoire um unter anderem Donalds Verlobte Daisy Duck und seine Neffen Tick, Trick und Track.

Floyd Gottfredson (1905 – 1986), der große „Mouse Man“, zeichnete zuerst für die Filmreihe der Silly Symphonies und erweckte seit den 1930er Jahren die Geschichten von Micky Maus zum Leben.

Floyd Gottfredson © Walt Disney Company 2022 / Courtesy Sammlung Reichelt und Brockmann

Zuerst zeichnete er die sogenannten Tagesstreifen in schwarz-weiß, wurde dann aber ab 1932 auch damit beauftragt farbige Sonntagsseiten über Micky Maus zu entwerfen. Bis Bill Walsh bei Disney eingestellt wurde war Gottfredson allein für die Plots der Micky-Stories verantwortlich. Da er sogar die Dialoge der Texter redigierte, stellt sich die Geschichts- und Charakterführung über die Jahre einheitlich dar.

Jan Gulbransson (*1949) ist der Enkel des bekannten Malers und Graphikers Olaf Gulbransson. Er folgt in Zeichen und Erzählduktus seinen Vorgängern und seinem Vorbild Carl Barks, während seine Themen jedoch zeitgemäßer werden.

Ulrich Schröder (*1964) ist einer der berühmtesten deutschen Grafiker und Comiczeichner   und wurde bekannt als Artdirector und Illustrator von Disney-Comics. Er gestaltete 17 Jahre das Artwork und die Werbematerialen für Disney. 2006 verließ Schröder Disney Europe und gründete das Studio Duckworks. Bekannt wurde er unter anderem auch für seine großformatigen Donald Duck-Zeichnungen und seine Cover für die europäischen Disney-Heftchen.

Newsletter

Unser Newsletter mit Informationen über unsere Ausstellungen, Künstler, u.v.m.! (Jederzeit kostenlos & kündbar)

Impressionen

Aus unserer Austellung “Disney große Zeichner”

Jetzt zu sehen: Thomas Haufe (08.05.2022 – 31.07.2022)